Bagshaw Hall, Bagshaw Hill, Bakewell, Derbyshire,
DE45 1DL, England.
M: 07764 261233
T: +44 (0) 1629 810333
F: +44 (0) 1629 813703
   
  E: info@bakewellholidayapartments.com  
E: info@sleeplodge.com  
(To continue browsing our websites please click the relevant logo above)
Guest Reviews
 

What a joy!
I've known Bakewell all my life and have stayed in every pub/hotel/B&B it has to offer, yet I had never stumbled across Bagshawe Hall. What a delight! We were met promptly by friendly and welcoming staff. Our suite was modern, very tastefully decorated, impeccably clean and everything in it was of a quality rarely found these days. The sense of freedom afforded by having a kitchenette, no reception, no visible staff and free access to the building and gardens was really liberating. Instead of a long list of do's and don'ts we had a real sense that we were free to do as we pleased and enjoy the wonderful old building....also rare these days. Lovely little touches such as fresh filter coffee, haridryers chosen to mirror the style of the room and a charming retro cafetiere added luxury, sense of humour and romance...a feeling that you someone had taken great care to make sure everything was thought of even down to the games cupboard and croquet set which we made full use of! The proprietors have also taken great care to foster a sense of community both within the building (by making guides and history books available for sharing..very much a 'help yourself' attitude) and in the village itself - they've secured very good discounts at two of the best restaurants and offer a fridge-filling service from one of the local delis. The accommdation is stunning, the staff most helpful and the 1 minute trot down the hill into the village offers wonderful views.

V. Atkinson (Review from Late Rooms)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Valentines Day and had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Sleep Lodge - the room was amazing. Beautiful interior design and having the kitchenette was a great bonus. The views are great as well, and it's just a couple minute walk from the center of Bakewell. Don't forget to have bakewell pudding in town!

WanderlustyCamille (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

10 friends went to Baghsaw Hall Lodge (part of Bagshaw Hall) to celebrate my 40th Birthday. We had a super time. The location of the hall is brill (a short steep hill) but there are alternative routes/methods if necessary. Very close to the town centre -approx 3 mins walk. All the rooms were lovely. Nice and clean, well decorated and lots of equipment... for eg fridge, microwave, toaster etc.... The owner - Georgina was very welcoming and most accomodating. I would recommend this to anyone and we hope for a return visit sometime in the future.

Liked — Warm, Very Clean and Great Location
Disliked — Nothing

JLANEEngland (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

‘We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bagshaw Hall and couldn’t recommend it enough. In fact, my parents have just returned from a nights stay there following our recommendation and agree with our verdict wholeheartedly.

We arrived at Bagshaw Hall at late notice. The owners were so welcoming and helpful, they couldn’t do enough for us. The rooms are outstanding and the outlook is stunning. Lovely communal areas, breakfast looking over the hills in our room was perfect. I can’t wait to go back. I just hope that Bagshaw Hall doesn’t become so popular we can’t get a room! Truly one of the best places I have ever stayed in the UK’

Claire Atchison 8th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We have just got back from Bagshaw Hall. We stayed on the 5th July 2008 in the Penthouse Suite. The stay was great. Our room had the best views of Bakewell. The room itself was fantastic with oversized bed and large bath (easily big enough for two) just under one of the windows. The whole lay out and decor of the hall is spot on. The living room is a little dark but this is how it is supposed to be. We would highly recommend and visit again ourselves.

Richard & Jenni (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We also stayed in the Cavendish apartment and I must say that we think it is the nicest place we have ever stayed. We also recently stayed at Hassop Hall, which is in a huge hall but would much prefer to stay in this place again. The room was gorgeous and cam complete with a whirlpool bath. I suppose the reason for not having a door is the fact that it is en-suite to your bedroom where there is a door to separate you from the rest of the accommodation. It had all the mod cons including a huge plasma TV and a fully fitted modern kitchen (even had a dishwasher and washing machine).Would recommend this to anyone. Will definitely be going again soon

.Katy Waldron (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Absolutely wonderful stay! Accommodated at late notice. Georgina & David went out of their way to make us comfortable & welcome. We will definitely be back many times, I just hope that we can get in as I have a feeling Bagshaw Hall is going to be very popular.

Jason & Claire Anderson. 13th April 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We feel very privileged to be one of the first to stay at Bagshaw Hall! Thankyou for being so welcoming & helpful.

Catherine & Stuart. 18th April 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We can’t wait to return, we’ve had such a lovely weekend. Bagshaw Hall is to a fantastic standard with interiors that are outstanding, a mix of contemporary and traditional.

Julie & Alan. 20th April 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From start to finish our Bagshaw Hall experience has been outstanding. Thank-you.

Keith & Rebecca Taylor. 04th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had a lovely stay, room was exceptional, hosts very welcoming, will be back soon!!

Assad & Francis. 05th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A wonderful hide away. Everything we hoped it would be and more. We very much hope to return, next time for a few days. Thank-you.

Tracy & Matt Lilley. 07th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wonderful anniversary weekend, weather was as beautiful as the suites.

Helen & Mark Collier. 11th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a find! We had a wonderful stay!

James & Sarah. 14/15th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beautiful House, Great Apartment, will definitely return!

Alex & Catherine & Benjamin Hart. 12th – 16th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had a really lovely time, great room, lovely touches, and very welcoming. Loved it!

Jon & Kim. 17th – 18th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Really well done, we had an excellent stay in beautiful Bakewell.

David & Margaret. 17th – 18th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had a fantastic weekend, we will definitely come back!

Joanna & Nick Webb. 16th – 19th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lovely Place, much nicer than a hotel, Thanks.

Chris & Maria. 18th May 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had a wonderful stay in Rutland Apartment. Very much looking forward to returning.

Michael & Emma. 3rd June 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gorgeous Penthouse Suite. A beautiful place & I loved the bath in front of the TV!

Rob & Catherine. 4th June 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beautiful place to stay and get a bit of filming done. Thanks!

Paul, Graham, Chrissie, and Dallas from The Gadget Show. 6th June 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

An absolute treasure. The nicest place we have ever stayed. Will definetly be back & will recommend to all. Thankyou.

Katy & Martin. 22nd June 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lovely anniversary weekend! Gorgeous room, we will come back soon!

Eryl & David. 20th – 21st June 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lovely House, had a great night in the Garden Room. Will be back, Thanks.

John & Sue. 28th June 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A beautiful house. Fantastic, friendly owners. The room was simply gorgeous, we’ll definetly be back again!

James & Lisa. 2nd July 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A wonderful stay, such a beautiful building and excellent rooms, will come again.

Sally & Ross. 3rd July 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A fantastic place to stay, we’re in the Penthouse! Amazing! We got engaged today, which made it more special. Would come again and definitely recommend! Thanks.

Jenni & Richard. 5th July 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fantastic stay in the Garden Room, both of us are overwhelmed with this beautiful place. Definitely coming back! Thanks for everything. Breakfast delicious.

Mark & Marie. 9th July 2008

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What a fantastic weekend we had whilst staying in the Penthouse Suite at the weekend. Nothing could have made it a more pleasurable stay, neither of us wanted to leave. Thank you again for one of the BEST weekends we have ever had.

Andrea Smith

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you want exceptional luxury, contemporary stylings with old English charm then look no further than Bagshaw Hall. The house has been decadently yet tastefully transformed into what can only be described as ‘contemporary heaven in the countryside’. The eclectic modern designs mixed with empathetic restoration of the original features provides a simply stunning hotel.

Situated right in the centre of Bakewell, with great views across the peak district, the hotel is a converted 17th century hall with all the original romance, architecture and quintessential English feel one could wish for.

We recommend the Mirabeau Suite for the perfect mix of contemporary and classic styling (French chateau).

If you’re looking for the perfect romantic get away or a relaxing weekend in the beautiful town of Bakewell, then this is the place to go !

FeynmanLondon (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I stayed here (The Sleep Lodge) with my Mum for four nights. The room was lovely and clean. The bathroom had a large bath and power shower over the bath and was spotlessly clean.
The beds were very comfortable and obviously of a good quality. There were new slippers and a bathrobe provided. We both use mobility scooters and the owners allowed us to keep these in their garage and keep a key. People with limited mobility must be able to climb about 6 stairs to the rooms though, but the stairs are inside and carpeted so one is able to rest if necessary. Highly recommended.

Room 5/5. Location 5/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 4/5. Service 5/5.

RotherhamYorkie (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is a delightful C17th hall, now converted into self-catering holiday apartments. Each apartment has been given its own character, and all enjoy a location above Bakewell town centre, just three minutes' walk away. The town is easily accessed by A roads, and benefits from excellent restaurants and pubs which serve quality food and wine.

Our stay was wonderful. The room was extremely spacious, and great thought has obviously gone into the conversion of the property. Each guest is provided with a gown and slippers, and the catering and bathroom fittings are high quality. The room was spotless on arrival, but also easy to keep clean.

On arrival, the owner was unavoidably out, but had thoughtfully made arrangements for us to settle in. We met her later and mentioned our plans to eat at a local restaurant that evening. Instantly she handed us a discount card! It is this kind of unobtrusive but thoughtful service which makes this place such a gem. Others could learn lessons from Bagshaw Hall.

Room 5/5. Location 5/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 5/5. Service 5/5.

steve_cov (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We stayed Easter weekend 2009 for 2 nights. Two ‘firsts’ or ‘bests’ for me on this stay, the ‘best’ bed I have ever slept in (and I have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world.) And also the ‘best’ shower I have ever used.

Bagshaw Hall offers superb cleanliness, a fantastic location, and inspiring views from the windows. Bakewell is a great town with some excellent pubs for food and real ale.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Dave & Ann

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi All
My wife and myself spent a few wonderful days in your property on the 14^th March, you may remember me I’m the guy who runs Derby Paranormal Hunters web site of the same address, Mr. & Mrs. O’Donnell I have written the attached poem about Bagshaw Hall as it impressed us so much, hope you don’t mind I have also posted it on www.poemhunter.com along with other poems I have done
Thanks again for the wonderful time we had

Regards

Jim O’Donnell

Bagshaw Hall

Bagshaw Hall on Bagshaw hill
Built with love and goodwill
Standing since sixteen eighty four
Renovated so we can all ardour

Sitting high above the quaint old town
Bakewell scattered all around
Standing proud in all its glory
I’m sure this building can tell a story

From Bagshaw Hall we hear the sound
Church bells pealing all around
Luring folks to their mystical sound
As they have done on years gone by

Thinking memories of the past
How much longer can this hall last
For three hundred years and more
The halls held open its front door

Through the good times and the bad
The halls strong walls were built to last
So Bagshaw Hall I give you good cheer
For at least the next three hundred years

14.03.2009
Bagshaw Hall
Manners Apartment

Jim O'Donnell (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

6 of us stayed in the Bagshaw apartment, that sleeps 6. Very comfortable and well priced for 2 nights stay. Very welcoming host and perfect location for all the main sites in Peaks. Heartily recommend!

Room 5/5. Location 5/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 4/5. Service 5/5

tanagogo1 (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I stayed at The Sleep Lodge with my wife, a colleague and his two kids. Upon arrival we were met by the reception staff in the car park and taken directly to our apartments for the weekend. The apartment was very warm and welcoming, very well appointed and was a pleasure to stay in! I cannot recommend the property, the location and the staff highly enough. All for £80 per night.... Each apartment has its own microwave, fridge-freezer, sink and storage cupbards, meaning that self-catering was an ideal option. We were taking part in the annual Rally Show at Chatsworth House and the rally car was given it's own private parking area and we were only 2 miles away from the show. 10/10!

Room 5/5. Location 5/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 5/5. Service 5/5

Intellekt (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you're not looking for 'hotel luxury', i.e. you don't need room service, spa restaurant etc then this is ideal! We didn't need self catering accomodation but the hotels in the area are really expensive so we gave it a go. The first thing to explain... sleep lodge is attached to Bagshaw Hall. When you phone up to book, make sure you check which building you are in. The sleep lodge rooms are brand new without any character and a lot cheaper!! The rooms are new, clean, beautifully decorated, with great views and quiet. They are only a few minutes walk from the centre of Bakewell. If you are looking for a base to explore the area, and your priority is a comfy bed, clean rooms and good bathrooms then I would recommend this.

We stayed in the Ben Fogle room. The only down sides were the shower and toilet. The shower was so powerful it soaked the whole room. After realising this we made sure we didn't turn it up to full power.
The second thing was the positioning of the toilet next to the bath - it's so close it is a real struggle to climb into the bath (even for an able bodied person).

All in all, I would not hesitate to go back.

Room 4/5. Location 5/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 5/5. Service 5/5

kb12345 (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Me and my Husband visited Bagshaw Hall for the first time last year for our Wedding Anniversary. The staff were really helpful and then we entered our room ..........WOW the Mirabeau Suite was superb - everything was superb!!!! I fully reccommend a stay at the Bagshaw especially in the upstairs suites the views from the windows are second to none. We found this hotel very private and the staff didnt bother you at all I felt like the whole hall was mine!!
We are returning to Bagshaw this year and cant wait to pamper ourselves once more!

Room 5/5. Location 5/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 5/5. Service 5/5

tillyandlee (Review from Trip Advisor)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My girlfriend and I spent our first weekend away in the Vernon suite. After seeing the photos we were even more impressed when we got there. The entrance was a little hard to find but the staff were more than happy to direct us. At one point most of the roads in Bakewell were blocked off due to a parade. A member of staff drove to our position and directed us back to the hotel which I thought was above and beyond the call of duty. The room was spotless and tastefully decorated. When we discovered there was no dvd remote we were awarded free breakfast for the 2 days as compensation. The only real reason I could fault the room would be the position of the window which allowed people to see into the room. However this room in the hotel would be the only room with this issue. It didnt detract from our enjoyment.

Room 4/5. Location 4/5. Cleanliness 5/5. Value 5/5. Service 5/5

David_Hastings (Review from Trip Advisor)




© 2008 - 2013 Bakewell Holiday Apartments. All Rights Reserved